Urban Design & Architectural Merit Award

Urban Design & Architectural Merit Award12 Nov 2015

Congratulations to all the winners of the highly successful fifth annual Waikato property awards, which recognise outstanding contributions to the built environment. The winners were announced at a formal ceremony at Wintec’s The Atrium tonight.

The coveted Waikato Branch Executive Long Service Honour, sponsored by Hawkins, went to Doug Arcus, honouring his commitment and tireless efforts towards the property industry and local economy throughout the years.

Mr Arcus is a barrister sole specialising in environment law, particularly under the Resource Management Act. He climbed the ranks at McCaw Lewis Lawyers after starting as a staff solicitor there in 1965. He has been a barrister sole since 1989, representing developers, regional and district councils.

New Waikato Branch president Thomas Gibbons says the Branch is delighted to see Mr Arcus celebrated for his longstanding efforts. “Doug is one of the few barristers in the Waikato specialising in environmental law, with most cases centred around planning, resource management and local government jurisdiction. His work can be summed up by one key word, progress. “We are proud to be paying this tribute to him, as he is renowned for his contribution to the Waikato not just in property, but many other areas of work.”

Mr Arcus is a former chairman of Waikato Bay of Plenty Branch of Resource Management Law Association of New Zealand. He is a Local Authority Hearings Commissioner and has made fully reasoned written decisions on proposed plan issues, plan changes, late submissions, notification issues, resource consents, and much more under the RMA.

He has played a strong role in the region’s Future Proof strategy and contributes extensively to philanthropy organisations including the DV Bryant Trust, Waikato Orchestra and Creative Waikato.

The night was a record success with 330 delegates in attendance. This event has been growing since its inception and is a testament to the confidence in Waikato’s commercial property industry. Thomas Gibbons says it is a pleasure to pay tribute to the people committed to region’s growth.

“It brings us immense pride and joy to be able to acknowledge the people in the industry that are making things happen. It is passion, commitment and sheer hard work that is making our industry tick over and we look forward to an even bigger night next year.”

2015 winners:

Outstanding Leadership Award (sponsored by Foster Construction) Mike Pohio, formerly Tainui Group Holdings

Young Achiever of the Year – Steven Alsemgeest Memorial Award (sponsored by Arrow International) Matt Stark Stark Property

The Waikato Branch Executive Long Service Honour (sponsored by Hawkins) Doug Arcus, Barrister Sole specialising in Environment Law particularly RMA

Property Industry Consultant of the Year (sponsored by Rider Levett Bucknall) Mike Neale NAI Harcourts

Urban Design & Architectural Merit (sponsored by BNZ) Yeoman Property Group for The Village Quarter, Stages 1-3

Best Team for a Waikato Project Award (sponsored by Staples Rodway) APG Architects and team for Fastlane Fitness

Judges’ Choice Award Architectural Profiles Ltd (APL) team for consistently achieving better outcomes for industrial buildings